Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017

cropped-sea-reads-banner-final.jpg

This has been slightly waylaid by silly things like a cold and a basketball championship, but happy April, y’all! The April showers are in full effect here, and the aforementioned silly things have seriously undermined the beginning of Camp NaNoWriMo for me. Here’s hoping I can catch up. Anyway, March was a heck of a month in my life. Let’s get wrapping.

Last Month in My Life:

I had a birthday, and surprise of surprises, my amazing boyfriend drove 10 hours to spend my birthday weekend with me! I also got to see my folks, watch my lil’ brother play a college lacrosse game, and take my sweetheart to dinner with my extended family. Right after he went home was our two year anniversary. I also got cleared at work to handle my second raptor, an adorable screech owl named Otus. At the end of the month, though, my grandfather passed away. It was a long time coming, but it still sucks. What a month.

Last Month in Books:

  • Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater: nostalgic; pretty werewolf instalove. img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • A Single Stone, by Meg McKinlay: gritty; unique; hero girl spelunkers. (review)     img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • The Star-Touched Queen, by Roshani Chokshi: fairytale whimsy; lord of death; a horse demon. (review) img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • A Charm of Goldfinches, by Matt Sewell: animals+linguistic quirks. img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • Come Be Wild With Me, by Kristen Maxwell: creepy outdoor people. (review) img_3181img_3181
  • The Blue Hour, by Isabelle Simler: many blue animals! (review) img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • The Queen of the Frogs, by Davide Cali: anti-monarchical frogs. (review) img_3181img_3181img_3181
  • Magic Words, by Edward Field: illustrated Inuit poem! (review) img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181img_3181

Last Month in Posts:

All of the above reviews, including some for children’s books, plus:

Around the Blogosphere:

I found some more great blogs to follow, so my reader was full of wonderful posts in March!

In the Works:

  • Update on meeting Roshani Chokshi & Ryan Graudin!
  • Finally a review of Three Dark Crowns, maybe
  • WoW: The Seafarer’s Kiss
  • A review of A Crown of Wishes

And you, dear reader?

Much love,

Sea

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017

Leave a Reply

