A Spoonful of Change

tumblr_inline_n2uqztwbbk1qdntc7

Wow, y’all. Life is a rollercoaster. My last Waiting on Wednesday post was a pre-scheduled post that I wrote at the end of March, so I haven’t written anything for the blog in about a month. To be honest, I feel like April kind of disappeared in a haze, here and then gone.

Almost all of my goals for last month went up in smoke, too. Rocking out Camp NaNoWriMo with an awesome cabin? Forget 30,000 words; I ended up with 3.5k. Keeping up the blogging momentum? Well, you saw how that went. In April, I got swept away by some major things in my personal life. Weekend getaway with the boyfriend and him getting an awesome new job and moving waaay closer to me: whoo! Best friend slash Ann Perkins to my Leslie Knope getting an awesome new job and moving hours and a whole time zone away: awesome and also a huge bummer. I also ran into major mounting frustrations at work, and I’ve been having a hard time not bringing my negativity home with me at the end of the day.

All month, I was either completely wrapped up with the big events happening for the people in my life or completely drained, stressed, and upset from a day at my job. Because of that, a lot of things I needed or wanted to do in my personal life fell by the wayside. I was letting outside factors take away my passion and excitement, and I needed a change.

Around the same time I realized that, my roommate and I had a conversation about habits. After his breakup, I had advised him that getting over someone came down to changing your mental habits: retraining your brain to stop always running paths to that person and to redirect to other subjects more often. He took that to heart, did some research on habits, and came back to me with ideas. Apparently, the best way to break a habit is to either apply a negative experience to it (ie; quit chewing your nails by wearing nail polish that tastes bad, so chewing the nails becomes extra unpleasant) or is to simply form new, better habits.

He also decided that the best way to form a new habit is to do it daily for a week. He started getting up half an hour earlier to go run in the morning, and it’s working so far. Now, he’s planning the next good habit to start.

I know I need to break out of some of my mental habits. It’s time for me to embrace positivity and gratitude; to live my life more intentionally, and not at the mercy of what’s going on around me. It’s time to make new habits.

So, starting last week, I adopted a new goal: doing at least fifteen push-ups per day. It’s a baby step, something easy and practical, that I can do any time I think of it. It’s something good for me. Something that, with enough persistence, I can see tangible results from. Something to make me feel accomplished and strong.

Today marks exactly one week of doing them. Some days, I even do more or feel inspired to do some other quick exercises, too. In the scheme of things, it’s only a tiny spoonful of change. But it also is a cornerstone, a place for me to continue to build. This is a commitment to myself, to my passions, to the things that matter. It’s also a fresh commitment to all the other things I dream of doing and love doing. It’s a pledge to keep reinventing myself for the better.

It’s also a refresh for my commitment to this blog. This is something I enjoy immensely, and in the month of May, it is something I will consciously make the time for.

Fifteen push-ups. Less than a minute. Just a spoonful of change. But I’m going to savor it, and one spoonful of something good almost always precedes another.

Leave a Reply

