The Typewriter Project – An Introduction

My 3.5k word count Camp NaNoWriMo experience this April was not unsuccessful. Even if I felt that way initially, I am rewriting (hah!) my own narrative around the event, because any attempt at NaNoWriMo is always successful!

It may sound like hollow rhetoric when NaNoWriMo encourages you to feel good about only writing 10% of your goal, but thinking positively about writing and the effort you put into it–even and especially when you don’t get the results you were hoping for–really can help you. After my Camp NaNoWriMo experience, I have two options. I can tell myself, “Wow, you really dropped the ball on that one. Did you even try at all? That was definitely a failure.” On the other hand, I can choose to think, “Hey, in those words I found an idea I’m excited to explore more! I got two preliminary characters who I can start getting to know.”

If you were me, which of those two things would make you more likely to write again soon? The second? Exactly. The power of positivity counts for a lot!

So, with that in mind, I’m excited to get back on the horse by applying to join The Typewriter Project, an awesome writing project/challenge hosted by Mahriya at My Bookish Life! If this sounds like something up your alley, be sure to sign up ASAP, because the deadline for applications is May 17th! Come on and write with me!

My Bookish Life

I AM SO EXCITED to be launching MY FIRST EVER BLOG PROJECT!!!

I cannot contain my excitement, I might be overflowing with it!

Anyways, yes. You read the title correctly (Well, I’m hoping you did), I’m starting THE Typewriter Project. Now, for all you curious beans out there, I will explain what all this excitement is all about and why we are celebrating (and then you can have your marshmallows). The Typewriter Project is something I’ve wanted to do for so long and with the help of May, I overcame my indecisiveness and DECIDED (I did, I actually did) to name it, write a post on it, and publish the supposed post. I know. brave.

Anyways, I wanted to start the Typewriter project and I AM! So let’s begin with what it’s all about because I know, the suspense is killing you.

View original post 785 more words

Leave a Reply

