Blogiversary, of Sorts

cropped-books-918521_1280.jpg

Today is a nice day.

I’m (mostly) moved into my new place. I start my new job tomorrow. It’s hard to wrap my head around the idea that I live here, now. Next week I won’t find myself back in my old apartment, back at my old job.

Today, according to WordPress, is also my one year blogging anniversary. On this day, I sat out on the front porch and set up my WordPress account and dedicated hours to creating a blog. (Two blogs, actually. My nature writing blog is currently defunct. This one didn’t launch until December, but was still created back then.)

I remember brainstorming for my bio and coming up with a silly list of goals to go at the end. After all, what’s more illustrative of a person’s heart than who they want to be? The list had three items on it:

  • Get a pet snake
  • Move to the coast
  • Have a job involving fish, oysters, or both

Now, exactly one year later, I have accomplished all three. It’s exciting, for sure. But now I also feel adrift. I had been so busy figuring out how to get here that I never much wondered what would come next.

After a few days of puzzling, I think I’ve settled on a starter goal. It’s time for me to write a novel.

Over the past year, starting with the blogging project, I got back into writing. Somewhat. I tried NaNoWriMo for the first time and had a blast. I attended some writing workshops. I at least thought about doing Camp NaNoWriMo in April, and I’m giving it another go this month. I’ve been tinkering and toying with writing a book.

But tinkering and toying don’t get you anywhere, at the end of the day. It’s time for me to do this thing for real. I don’t know what it’s going to be or to look like at the end, but I’m in it for the journey, and it’s just the right time for me to start a new journey. Anchors aweigh!

4 thoughts on “Blogiversary, of Sorts

Leave a Reply

